Countdown has begun… 8weeks till show time

Ok so this is my first time blogging. I have always enjoyed writing, might even say I’m not too shabby at it. So I decided.. what better way than to write about my journey (through hell?!!) as I prepare for my first OPA bikini show.

Although it will be my first with OPA.. I already did 2 shows through another organization last year. Could have done better.. but I can say this time I’m putting ALOT more into it (not to mention $$ wise).

I’m what some may refer to as a “Personal Trainer”.., so I know my way around the gym. I’ve helped clients reach and sometimes surpass their goals. And it may sound cliche..but their success is my reward!

So when I first decided to do a competition last july, I thought it would be a walk in the park….WRONG!!! The training part is no biggie for me..it’s the food. I LOVE food..especially the ones that tend to be higher in carbs. Rice, pasta, breads…sweet tooth, HA!! I’d say all 32 of mine can be classified as that.

Don’t get me wrong.. I don’t eat junk.. (except for the occasional sweet). I just like to eat..I’m south american, its cultural!!

Like I said, I could have done better. Which is why I decided to take a different approach. Even coaches need coaches, right? YES! And that’s exactly what I got myself.

I’m 4 weeks in. I send a bi-weekly report about my training, nutrition & include pictures of myself. Of course this includes weight, measurements & body fat %. Looking at my pics from week 1 & week 4, I can say I’m doing pretty good. There’s definitely more definition in my..ABS! (gasp!!) and overall I look leaner. Downside..I hate how my face gets when I start to lean out 😦

I start my phase 2 in training today. Food stays the same, which was a freaking nightmare the first 2 weeks. I now have a bit more leeway in terms of proteins & carbs..actually just proteins. I’m not allowed any breads and, ok.. to make it easier NO GLUTEN. NO DAIRY. NO FRUITS (except blueberries). PERIOD.

And no sugar (goes without saying).

Coach says I’ve been at 87% compliance with nutrition..she wants 90% or higher.

I hate being told no. Makes me want it even more.. the forbidden fruit (Adam & Eve) mentality? Maybe

OK..I think I will stop here for now, although I can keep going. But need to get my first meal of the day in 🙂

About C.Esmeralda7

A gym rat who finds refuge in the iron jungle.. a trainer who has learned & continues to learn from fellow trainers and who hopes to inspire others to lead a healthy lifestyle.

Posted on March 27, 2013, in Contest Prep, Gym Rat Diary and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

