Sooo…. It’s been awhile..

All great change is preceded by chaos
– Deepak Chopra

Change… There has certainly been a few changes since the last time I wrote.

7 weeks back I was in full force contest prep for the may 25 OPA show.

I will admit that I went through a rough patch mentally where I wanted to give it all up. Be careful what you wish for…

I am 5 weeks pregnant!

I knew it could be a possibility.. But I didn’t think it could happen that soon.

So I guess my new count down will be till this little bundle of joy is in my arms. 247 days to be exact!

After my ‘mental’ rough patch, I started focusing on my training again. I worked out with one of the girls at work, a great shoulder & tricep workout. We topped it off with a 5k run. It was a beautiful sunny day & I felt great!
22 minutes later I was stretching and feeling awesome.
Fast forward one week.. I went on another 5k run. A different route.. But same distance. I WAS DYING!! I started off ok.. But 7min into it I started getting a bad cramp in my side & I couldn’t seem to catch my breath.

Following week I suspected I might be preggers, but it was too early to test. I tried to do some kettlebell work but again I couldn’t seem to catch my breath and my heart seemed like it was going to explode out of my chest.

A blood test by my doc confirmed what I already knew.. He was surprised I even felt pregnant. Apparently I am ‘very in tune’ with my body. I got the ok from him to continue working out, but obviously to take it easy.

Last Thursday’s workout:

Sumo deadlift 4 sets x 10 reps x 90pds

Kettlebell curtsy lunge 3sets x 12repsx 45pds *superset with*
Seated leg curl 3sets x 12reps x 85pds

Db Bulgarian split squat 3sets x10 reps x 60pds

Leg extension 4 sets x 10reps x 85pds

For all exercises I dropped the weight. I was forced to take 1.5- 2 min breaks to try and get my heart rate down which was at a scary 212 beats per minute!!

Tuesday was my first workout in 2 weeks where I didn’t feel like I was going to die of a heart attack! Again the weight I used was less than usual.. But I’m definitely feeling it!

Pull-ups 4 sets x 10 reps

Lat pull down 4sets x10reps x 85pds

Single arm db row 3sets x 10reps x25pds

Arnold press 3sets x 10reps x50pds

Machine rear delt flyes 3sets x15reps x40pds

So, from here on out I will write about my gymlife & pregnancy. ( sorry for the LONG post!)

Till next time!

About C.Esmeralda7

A gym rat who finds refuge in the iron jungle.. a trainer who has learned & continues to learn from fellow trainers and who hopes to inspire others to lead a healthy lifestyle.

Posted on May 22, 2013, in Gym Rat Diary, Pre-natal Training & Exercise and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Really cool that you not only invest time into designing your dream health but that you also share it with others to inspire them. Keep being an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

