Slowly getting back into it..

This week has been better in terms of my workouts.

Well mind you I’ve only done 2 weight training workouts & 2 cardio days.
I must say that DOMS is worse.. It’s the hormones (which one?!!), even though I’m giving myself at least one day rest between iron sessions. I’ve managed to keep my heart rate at a reasonable level, and I’m proud that although I’m going a bit lighter with weight I’m still pounding out the reps and reaching failure ( or a close to failure as my prego body will allow). I will shamefully admit that I tried to superset hammer strength chest press with push-ups, something I’ve done before. Result: almost fell flat on my face!

Friday’s workout:

Incline db chest press 6sets x10reps x 60pds

Flat db flyes 4sets x 12reps x40pds

Hammer strength chest press 4sets x10reps x 70pds
(Failed to superset with push-ups :()

Reverse grip tricep pull down 3sets x12 reps x20pds
Superset w/
Tricep dips 3sets x10reps

Db bicep curl 3sets x12reps x40pds

Single arm preacher curl 2sets x10reps x15pds
superset w/

Cable tricep pull down (rope attachment) 2 sets x15reps x25pds

Well here you have it.

Just because you have a bun in the oven does not mean that you can’t lift anything heavier than 10pds.

Many doctors (mine included) might say to stay under 20pds when using weight.
My opinion: bs!

If you are a veteran in the iron jungle then keep at it! Obviously you won’t be able to lift 80,90% of your max.. I tried and learned the hard way, read: felt like I was going to pass out.

Listen to your body, because like it or not your body will let you know. Your focus will now be on maintaining your current strength/ fitness level, not setting new records.

So ladies.. Just because you’re pregnant does not mean you are incapable of lifting weights 🙂

About C.Esmeralda7

A gym rat who finds refuge in the iron jungle.. a trainer who has learned & continues to learn from fellow trainers and who hopes to inspire others to lead a healthy lifestyle.

Posted on May 25, 2013, in Gym Rat Diary, Pre-natal Training & Exercise and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Your work outs seem really intense. Keep up the great work and keep pushing yourself. Reading this definitely motivates me to push myself even more 🙂

Leave a Reply

