So it’s been awhile… 7 months to be exact πŸ˜•

Last time I wrote on here I was just starting to feel better. I was getting over my nausea and extreme fatigue; was starting to eat & was feeling great exercising.
Boy oh boy was that short lived… A few weeks after that I started experiencing a nasty little twinge in my pelvis. I would feel it at first when I did any lower body exercise, especially with any lunge variation. Then it got worse, and along with other pregnancy issues, I had to stop my weight training 😞

Turned out to be Symphysis Pubis Disfunction. What is this fancy condition?!
First, a bit if anatomy: the symphysis pubis is a stiff joint that connects the two halves of your pelvis. This joint is strengthened by a dense network of tough, flexible tissues (ligaments).

During pregnancy your body produces a hormone called relaxin, softens your ligaments in order to help your baby pass through your pelvis.
Your pelvic joints move more during and just after pregnancy. This can cause inflammation and pain, and may lead to the condition symphysis pubis dysfunction (SPD).

What this meant for me: any time I so much as did ANY movement that required moving one leg apart from the other ( lunges, step ups, getting out of bed.. You get the point) I felt a nasty grinding sensation in my pelvis 😫

Then I started to get really bad carpel tunnel ,to the point where I had numbing/ tingling all the way up to my elbows. This really affected my grip and I could not put any weight on my hands 😞

That was the end of my workouts. My focus turned to prenatal yoga & hypnobirthing meditation. Little bean came barreling into this world one day late. Despite having back to back contractions I gave birth to a beautiful baby boy in less than 3 hours and drug free!!

Now at 10 weeks postpartum and after having been cleared by my midwife, I started to workout again at home. My workouts started off with mainly body weight exercises and a lot of stretching.

My next posts will feature some info on diastasis recti (also known as abdominal separation) and pelvic floor prolapse, and of course easing into workouts

Till next time 😊

About C.Esmeralda7

A gym rat who finds refuge in the iron jungle.. a trainer who has learned & continues to learn from fellow trainers and who hopes to inspire others to lead a healthy lifestyle.

Posted on April 1, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

